Mount Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest

Around the Forest
Page 2 of 5   |  

Mt. Baker Snoqualmie National Forest contains four districts. Forty-two percent of the forest is designated wilderness, divided into eight wilderness areas—Mount Baker, Noisy Diobsud, Boulder River, Glacier Park, Henry M. Jackson, Alpine Lakes, Clearwater, and Norse Park. It is bordered by the Wenatchee National Forest to the East, home of Lake Chelan. Points of interest include the Pacific Crest National Scenic Trail and Glacier Peak.

Mount Baker is one of Washington's five Cascade volcanoes—the others are Mt. St. Helens, Mt. Rainer, Mt. Adams, and Glacier Peak. Along with Mt. St. Helens, Mount Baker is unique in being thermally active. The forest is close to Seattle, Tacoma, Olympia, and Yakima, depending on where you are—so really, there's no excuse not to get there as soon as possible. The forest is wild and rugged, but it is also diverse—whatever you're looking for, you'll be sure to find it, and more.

Published: 29 Apr 2002 | Last Updated: 15 Sep 2010
Details mentioned in this article were accurate at the time of publication


Sign up to Away's Travel Insider

Preview newsletter »