Hudson River Valley
Designed in 1838 by Alexander Jackson Davis, Lyndhurst is an expression of the Romantic Movement in 19th-century America. Its Romantic and Gothic towers, turrets; archways, armories, peaked windows and pinnacled roofs are rebellions against Neoclassicism and celebrations of imagination, emotion and wildness.
The Romantic style extends to the grounds, which were designed in the 19th century by Ferdinand Mangold. The broad, sweeping lawns and planned vistas yield a controlled romanticized experience of the natural setting.
Jay Gould, the well known railroad magnate, Wall Street tycoon and inside trader purchased the property, then called"Lyndenhurst" in 1880. He shortened the name to Lyndhurst and lived there during warm months and on special occasions. After he died, his daughter purchased the house from the heirs. Eventually the estate, all its land, and an endowment fund for maintenance was willed to the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
Lyndhurst is open to visitors daily from May through October, except Mondays. From November through April the house and grounds are open on weekends only. It is closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Days. There is a small admission charge to the grounds and another for a tour of the house. There is a museum shop and cafe located in the old stables immediately adjacent to the mansion. Be sure to call ahead for details on opening days and hours.
For contact information, see Practicalities.
Details mentioned in this article were accurate at the time of publication