Tongass National Forest

Wilderness Areas

There are 19 designated wilderness areas totaling about 5.7 million acres. These are scattered throughout the Tongass National Forest. Wilderness areas are undeveloped, natural lands set aside to protect their wildlife habitat, ecological diversity, and primitive recreation sites. Because of the unique conditions in Alaska, certain forms of motorized access and certain facilities (such as public use cabins) are allowed in the wilderness areas that are not allowed in wilderness areas outside Alaska.

Wilderness Areas on the Tongass
Chuck River
Coronation Island
Endicott River
Karta River
Kootznoowoo (Admiralty Island National Monument)
Maurelle Islands
Misty Fiords National Monument
Petersburg Creek-Duncan Salt Chuck
Pleasent/Lemesurier/Inian Island
Russell Fiord
South Baranof
South Etolin Island
South Prince of Wales
Tebenkof Bay
Tracy Arm-Fords Terror
Warren Island
West Chichagof-Yakobi

Two National Monuments, Misty Fiords and Admiralty Island, are located in the Tongass National Forest. Monument status protects ecological, cultural, geological, historical, prehistorical, and scientific values. Most of the land in both monuments is also designated as wilderness. The Kootznoowoo Wilderness or "fortress of the bears" as it is called by local Tlingit Indians, covers a little less than the entire 974,000 acres of the Admiralty Island National Monument. Misty Fiords National Monument, in the southern part of Southeast Alaska, is 2.3 million acres in size and is known for its narrow fiords, steep-walled canyons, and spectacular waterfalls.

Other protected areas, called Land Use Designation (LUD) 11 Management Areas, are largely roadless, although regulations permit road construction for some authorized activities. Like wilderness areas, LUD11 areas are open to camping, hiking, canoeing, and other public recreation activities.


Sign up to Away's Travel Insider

Preview newsletter »