Shasta-Trinity National Forest

Page 4 of 5   |  
Shasta-Trinity National Forest
Shasta-Trinity National Forest (Robert Holmes/California Tourism)

More than 1,400 miles of trails can be found in the Forests.

The Pacific Crest Trail
The Pacific Crest Trail is the main north-south route for foot and equestrian travel extending 2,600 miles between the Canadian and Mexican borders. A 154-mile section runs across the Forests generally in an east-west direction from the Lassen National Forest near Lake Britton to the Klamath National Forest near Virginia Lake. Mt. Shasta, Castle Crags, and the Trinity Alps dominate the view from many points along the way.

National Recreation Trails
The National Recreation Trails System was established by Congress to promote public enjoyment and appreciation of the Nation's outdoor areas.

Sisson-Callahan National Recreation Trail - Most of the nine-mile Sisson-Callahan trail follows a historical route from the town formerly called Sisson (now Mt. Shasta City) to the early mining town of Callahan.

South Fork National Recreation Trail - This eight-mile trail originates at the small community of Forest Glen and very gently climbs as it follows the South Fork Trinity River upstream to Smokey Creek.

Published: 9 Oct 2009 | Last Updated: 11 Oct 2011
Details mentioned in this article were accurate at the time of publication


Sign up to Away's Travel Insider

Preview newsletter »