Shasta-Trinity National Forest

Page 2 of 5   |  
Shasta-Trinity National Forest
Shasta-Trinity National Forest (Robert Glusic/Photographer's Choice/Getty)

The 2.1 million acres of public lands within the Shasta Trinity National Forests is a beautiful area characterized by granite peaks and cliffs, canyons, picturesque lakes, glaciers, and rock pinnacles. The area includes the second highest volcano in the Cascade range—Mount Shasta, which stands at 14,162 feet.

The Shasta National Forest was established in 1905 and the Trinity National Forest in 1907 by proclamation of President Theodore Roosevelt. The two Forests were combined into one administrative unit in 1954. It is now one of 154 national forests in the nation and is administered as one of 18 National Forests in California.

Conifer species found in the Shasta-Trinity National Forest include ponderosa pine, Jeffrey pine, digger pine, knobcone pine, California red and white fir, douglas fir, cedar, and pacific yews. Hardwood species including several varieties of oak, black cottonwood, pacific madrone, and pacific dogwood are also present. Other vegetation found in the forest includes deerbrush, snowbrush, and ceanothus. The latter forms dense brushfields on the sunny open slopes in the forest.

Outdoor Recreation
A myriad of outdoor recreation facilities have been developed to serve the recreating public. Facilities include: campgrounds, picnic areas, boat ramps, resorts, marinas, and winter sports developments. The development standards offer a wide variety of facilities—ranging from primitive to modern. In addition to these facilities, over 1,400 miles of trails can be found in the Forests. There are also miles and miles of great biking trails traversing this beautiful forest.

The Whiskeytown National Recreation Area (NRA) was established by an Act of Congress in 1965. The 203,500-acre area is comprised of three separate units: Shasta Lake and Clair Engle-Lewiston Lakes administered by the Forest Service and Whiskeytown Lake administered by the National Park Service.

The NRA was set aside to recognize recreation opportunities provided by the four northernmost reservoirs created by the Bureau of Reclamation's Central Valley Water Project. Objectives of the NRA are to provide recreation for present and future generations, and to ensure conservation of lands having scenic, scientific, and historic values.

National Wild and Scenic Rivers
Over 100 miles of rivers on the Shasta-Trinity National Forests have been designated as components of the National Wild and Scenic Rivers System. The purpose of this designation is to preserve the river in a free-flowing condition, to maintain the quality of the water, and to protect the river and its environment for the benefit and enjoyment of future generations.

The Wilderness Acts of 1964 and 1984 established a National Wilderness Preservation System intended to preserve unique wild and scenic areas of America's public lands. Within the boundaries of the Shasta-Trinity National Forests are all or portions of five Wildernesses: Castle Crags (11,200 acres), Chanchelulla (8,300 acres), Mt. Shasta, (38,200 acres), Trinity Alps (517,500 acres), and Yolla Bolla-Middle Eel (155,000 acres).

Around the Forest
Hikers may want to soak their sore and aching muscles in the rustic hot springs of Big Bend, Hunt, Terminal Geyser, and Lassen Volcanic National Park. Shasta-Trinity is also surrounded by a slew of other national forests including Klamath, Lassen, Modoc, Mendocino, Plumas, and Six Rivers. Nearby towns include Big Bar, Mount Shasta, Hayfork, Weaverville, Platina, Redding, and Lakehead. Shasta-Trinity is 150 miles north of Sacramento and 200 miles northeast of San Francisco.

Published: 29 Apr 2002 | Last Updated: 9 Nov 2011
Details mentioned in this article were accurate at the time of publication


Sign up to Away's Travel Insider

Preview newsletter »